February 17, 2010

The Five Love Languages

A couple of years ago, my best friend gave me a book (we're all about life-changing lit) called The Five Love Languages.  She shared with me the basic premise of the book and as eager as I was to read it, life happened and I never got past the first chapter.  Then, just last month some girlfriends mentioned the book and can rekindled my interest in finishing it.  It is an easy read; I finished it in a week-and-a-half's morning bus rides.  It contains real lessons that can be applied to all the relationships in your life with clearly illustrated examples and scenarios.

Author, pastor and speaker Gary Chapman leads you through the five main ways that you and your partner best express love for one another:
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

It's about choosing to understand your mate, making the effort to show your love for them in the way that they best receive it, and how weak marriages can be re-born and strong marriages even better.  I realized what keeps my husband's and my love tanks full, as well as those of my children and keeping this knowledge in the back of my mind daily has helped me in my effort to be a good wife and mother.
Read this book!  It's incredibly easy to apply the ideas Dr. Chapman shares, and while he is a pastor, it is not at all preachy.  Whether your marriage is stuck in a rut or is sailing smoothly, you will value the advice.  And when you're done reading it, pass it on.